DCH

新常態下推陳出新

Body

有超過70年歷史的大昌行集團(大昌行)業務遍及亞洲12個巿場、擁有16,000名員工,其多元化的業務涵蓋「醫」食住行4大生活層面,並伸延至品牌開發、製造、市場推廣、物流及零售。

如所有消費產品行業般,大昌行於2020年亦受突如其來的疫情影響;縱然如此,其行政總裁黎汝雄(Frank)表示:「集團於艱難營商環境下仍能在不同業務上取得顯著成績及突破。」到底集團及其消費品業務如何適應新常態,持續增長?

迎合不斷演變的飲食口味

疫情嚴重衝擊香港及其他地區的飲食行業。大昌行前食品業務主管、現為大昌行集團顧問及GS1董事會成員的梁佩貞(Betty)憶述食品供應在疫情初期變得不穩定、成本上漲。她指:「我們的團隊即時找出更穩定的食品供應、預測需求及預先下單,儲存更多物資以備不時之需。因此,即使在充滿挑戰的環境下,大昌行都能為客戶提供一個靈活度高且有彈性的供應鏈。」

DCH

大昌行同時順應在家煮食的趨勢,將其產品組合變陣。「我們推出Leo’s『美食煮意』即食包,老壇酸菜魚以至龍蝦湯都有,讓消費者方便快捷在家享用美食。」長遠而言,健康綠色飲食漸成主流,所以大昌行亦成為多種植物產品的獨家分銷商,為消費者提供比傳統肉類健康、亦有助減碳足跡的選擇。Betty續說:「這些策略性的轉變幫助我們鞏固地位,繼續領導巿場。」

DHC_Prepack Food

疫情令消費者對食物安全越趨關注,大昌行亦如以往般重視供應鏈質素及安全。集團旗下大昌食品、慎昌、寰宇美食及大聯咖啡多年來都有參加GS1 HK的「優質食品計劃」,今年更升級加入「優質食品計劃+」,都分別獲得鑽石企業和金企業殊榮,表示其食品可追溯性和供應鏈透明度都表現出色。

 

Betty Quote

拓展獨有醫藥優勢
透過旗下的奧利佳(DCH Auriga),集團為醫藥保健行業管理複雜的供應鏈,負責配送有嚴謹法規、儲存及運輸規管的醫療產品。

Pfizer BioNtech

4年前,奧利佳仍需與其他業務共用大樓空間及供應鏈設施。Frank表示:「有賴當年母公司中信泰富管理層的高瞻遠矚及信任,毅然决定開拓專用大樓作長線投資,讓奧利佳可以於醫療保健行業拓展獨有能力。」奧利佳於2018年重置到葵涌一棟高11層、總面積達400,000平方尺的大樓,內裡配備先進科技和設施,例如是自動導引車、語音辨識揀貨系統、大型冷凍庫、電子鎖等。Frank續說:「我們原預期大樓容量會在第5年達到飽和、現在提早第3年完成,成績彪炳;現正物色額外地方擴充。」

由此可見,奧利佳於2021年獨家負責本港兩款疫苗在本地物流運輸和儲存的重要任務絕非偶然,尤其是輝瑞BioNTech疫苗必須存於零下70度。Frank憶述:「當時我密切跟進疫苗的運送,並在疫苗抵達當晚聽取報告狀況,確保我們處理妥當、符合要求。」全憑公司在管理複雜藥品供應鏈及全面質量管理上有50年經驗,並嚴格遵循國際標準如GDP(良好分配規範)、GMP(良好生產規範)、ISO、GS1的識別及和資料擷取標準等,令疫苗配送任務成功。及至2021年10月,奧利佳已在香港安全地配送了超過800萬劑疫苗。Frank表示:「成功背後有賴我們的策略規劃、專注於改變醫療保健體驗、以及對服務的承諾,而這些都是我們企業文化的核心。」
 

電商發展集大成 捕捉新零售契機

疫情逼使全球消費者留家抗疫,為網絡零售商開創新機會,大昌行亦迅即在本港加快發展電商生意。專營食品雜貨的大昌食品巿場不斷提升網購體驗,而集團其他公司如IGF和Leo’s等亦開始直接以網絡向消費者銷售熱賣產品。為配合在家煮食趨勢,大昌食品巿場推出「大昌煮意兵團」會員計劃,短短一年間已有逾二十萬會員參與。
 

DHC_website promotion

公司於2021年上旬推出Ahaa家電靈感店(ahaa.com.hk),搜羅不同牌子及由大昌行代理的電子產品、家庭電器及個人護理用品等,提供獨家優惠及互動的多元化購物體驗;又與香港寬頻和嘉里物流合作推出本地網購平台HOME+(home-plus.hk),標榜以「共享經濟」概念營運,無論任何獨立商戶均可加盟,由生活百貨以至家電都有供應。Frank指這是優勢互補、合作共贏:「香港寬頻在港擁有一百萬用戶,我們與合作夥伴在產品供應、送貨和售後服務均擁有優勢,相信會產生協同效應。」


「憑藉疫情帶來的市場機遇,我們的B2C和電商業務急速發展,而內部團隊亦正在積累關鍵的營運專業。這些都是促使我們長期可持續發展的重要力量。」


DHC_Home+

勇往直前

疫情放緩,大昌行繼續在新常態下發掘增長動力,特別看好大灣區優越的發展前景。集團在新會及橫琴擁有大型物流及食品加工中心,大昌行物流已準備好為區內提供冷鏈和一系列的增值服務;同時奧利佳正密切審視監管要求的變化,以便提供跨境服務。

「集團區內的基建能進一步加強我們的供應鏈網絡及巿場領導地位,現只待早日通關,我們便能發揮更強大優勢,為大灣區發展出一份力。」

相關文章

藥品改例棄百萬紙品 轉型批發零售多元發展
港人的保健意識提升,帶動近年保健食品市場持續增長。開業17年的樂寶健康有限公司,可說是經歷過香港保健品的蛻變,其董事總經理蒙燦櫻 (Lily)指…
食店研鎖水燒味即食包 以三頭馬車促增長
香港食物安全中心於2021年的「全港性食物消費量調查」報告顯示,燒味鹵味位居港人最愛次位;另一調查推算港人每年進食66,233噸燒味,數量驚人。難怪唐順興家禽(香港…
新零售百態 隨時代更佳
本地超巿巨頭百佳超級市場是GS1 HK創會成員之一,由50年前一間分店發展至今約260間超巿,其董事總經理任良安(Norman)可說是伴隨成長。「我在零售業工作幾十年…

置頂

DCH

Thriving in the New Normal

Body

With 70 years of history, operations in 12 Asian markets and more than 16,000 employees, Dah Chong Hong Holdings (DCH) is a diverse company covering the four basic necessities of life: food, health, mobility and household goods with operations that extend across brand development, manufacturing, marketing, logistics and retail.

Like all consumer-oriented businesses, DCH was faced with unprecedented uncertainty and disruption upon the sudden onset of the global COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. However, the company consistently found ways to transform adversity into advantage. According to the company’s Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Frank Lai, “DCH achieved solid outcomes and breakthroughs across its business units amidst a challenging business environment.” How did DCH and its consumer products businesses adapt to thrive in the new normal?

Pivoting Towards Evolving Tastes in the Food Business

In Hong Kong, as in many markets, the pandemic severely impacted the food and catering industries. Ms. Betty Leung, a director of the GS1 HongKong Board, former head of the DCH Food Business and current DCH Advisor, recalled concerns about food supply and cost spikes. “DCH teams had to move quickly to identify stable food sources, anticipate changes in demand and plan advanced orders to ensure adequate inventory,” she said. “As a result, DCH was able to provide its customers with a resilient and agile supplychain despite ongoing disruptions.”

DCH

DCH teams also reviewed its product mix given the new prevalence of home cooking. “For example, we launched ready-to-serve ‘Foodie Cuisine’ under the Leo’s brand,” said Betty. “From Chinese sauerkraut fish to lobster bisque, the heat-at-home collection offered consumers convenience and simplicity.” Recognising a long-term trend towards healthy eating and green diets, DCH also became the exclusive distributor of a range of plant-based meat products, healthy and carbon-friendly alternatives to traditional meats. According to Betty, “Strategic adjustments like these helped us to solidify and maintain our market leading position.”

DHC_Prepack Food

While the pandemic raised new concerns over food safety, DCH has always recognised the critical importance of quality and safety in the supply chain. DCH Food Mart, Sims Trading, IGF and Tai Luen have all joined GS1 HK’s Quality Food Scheme+ and scored Diamond Enterprise and Gold Enterprise Awards respectively, demonstrating a level of professional excellence in food traceability and supply chain transparency.

Betty Quote

Developing Unique Capabilities to Serve the Healthcare Industry

Through its subsidiary DCH Auriga, DCH provides sophisticated supply chain services for the healthcare industry, distributing healthcare products with complex regulatory, storage and transportation requirements.

Pfizer BioNtech

Four years ago, DCH Auriga was sharing office and supply chain facilities with other business units. “With strong support from our parent company, CITIC Pacific, we made a decision to invest in a healthcare-dedicated building and offer specialised capabilities to the medical industry,” said Frank. In 2018, DCH Auriga relocated to a 11-storey building in Kwai Chung with a floor area of more than 400,000 square feet. The facility was outfitted with advanced technologies and storage solutions, including automated guided robots, voice picking capabilities, an expansive cold storage system, e-locks and more. “While we had hoped to achieve full capacity in five years,” said Frank, “we beat our target by the third year and are already looking for new space for expansion.”

It was no coincidence when, in 2021, DCH Auriga was selected as the sole logistics provider for both the Sinovac and Pfizer BioNtech COVID-19 vaccines, particularly as the latter had to be stored at -70˚C. “I had been following the arrival of the vaccines very closely,” Frank recalled. “I remember waiting up on the first night for a status report to ensure our teams had delivered above all expectations.” With over 50 years of experience in managing sophisticated pharmaceutical supply chains, robust quality assurance protocols, GDP and GMP accreditations, stringent adherence to global ISO standards, as well as GS1 standards for identity and data capture, the distribution program went smoothly.

By October 2021, DCH Auriga had safely distributed more than eight million vaccines across Hong Kong. “Our success has been the result of strategic planning and a focus on the evolution of the healthcare experience – as well as the commitment to service that is the bedrock of our culture” said Frank.

Launching an E-commerce Portfolio to Capture Demand for New Retail
As consumers around the world stayed home to protect their communities, the global pandemic created new opportunities for online retailers. DCH was quick to accelerate the development of a strong portfolio of e-commerce businesses in Hong Kong.

DHC_website promotion
Grocery retailer, DCH Food Mart, refreshed its online shopping platform (dchfoodmartdeluxe.com), while subsidiaries like IGF and Leo’s began offering consumers direct access to their best-selling products online. To support a growing community of home chefs, DCH Food Mart unveiled “DCH Cooking Buddies”, a loyalty program that amassed 200,000 members in its first year. 

In early 2021, DCH launched Ahaa (ahaashop.com.hk), an online retailer of electronics, home appliances, personal care and more, which provides an interactive shopping experience and exclusive offers for many of the brands distributed by DCH subsidiaries. DCH has also joined forces with HKBN and Kerry Logistics to launch the HOME+ platform (home-plus.hk), a Hong Kong-based shared-economy e-shopping portal, where independent sellers can offer customers a sweeping array of products including food, household items and appliances. According to Frank, collaborations like Home+ are built on synergy and create win-win partnerships. “HKBN has over a million customers in Hong Kong, while we and our partners are uniquely positioned to offer product supply, delivery and after-sale services.”

"Leveraging market opportunities enhanced by the pandemic, our B2C and e-commerce businesses have developed rapidly while our internal teams are building critical operational knowledge,” said Frank. “These are important capabilities for our long term, sustainable development.”
DHC_Home+

Always Looking Ahead

While the worst of the pandemic seems to be behind us, DCH continues to look for growth avenues in today’s new normal. In particular, the Greater Bay Area (GBA) represents an immense opportunity for the company. With mega logistics and food processing centers in Hengqin and Xinhui, DCH Logistics is ready to offer much-needed cold chain solutions and value-added services in the region. Likewise, DCH Auriga is reviewing changes in regulatory requirements to offer cross-border services.
 

“Our existing regional infrastructure will reinforce our supply chain coverage and gives us a unique position in the market. We are all looking forward to quarantine-free travel with Mainland China, so we can fully harness our capabilities and contribute to the rapid development of the GBA.” 

Related article

Local Pharmaceutical Firm Pivots & Diversifies amid Changes in Regulatory Business Environment
The local health food market has been growing in recent years, thanks to the rising…
Three Engines for Business Growth Local Food Band Develops Ready-to-eat Juicy Siu-Mei
Siu-Mei (Hong Kong-style roasted meat) and Lou Mei (dishes made by braising in a…
Charting the New Retail Landscape in a New Era
PARKnSHOP, one of the leading supermarket chains in Hong Kong, is a founding member…

Top